The bookshop has a thousand books, all colors, hues, and tinges, and every cover is a door that turns on magic hinges. -Nancy Byrd Turner

2017-04-29 16.45.08

Saturday was Independent Bookstore Day. I try to get as many books as I can from the library but I decided that it really was my responsibility to go to my favorite little local book store The Book Bin and pick up a few books. Browsing in a book store is a quick way for me to find some instant happiness.

2017-04-29 21.27.56

I have been looked for Men We Reaped by Jesmyn Ward for awhile.  It was on a book list I saw awhile ago and had added to my Goodreads list but hadn’t found it.  I am looking forward to reading it!  I am also trying to add a little more poetry to my life and Bright Dead Things by Ada Limon caught my eye.  I also bought three copies of Language Arts by Stephanie Kallos because buying books to give to friends is more fun than buying them for yourself!

Last, I found a book for Taelin that I am really excited about!  Do you remember Choose Your Own Adventure books?  I used to love them when I was younger and I found a whole series of them that are part chapter book/part picture book.  I am hoping that she will get hooked and end up loving them as much as I do!

If you have a local book store, go check them out and buy a book or two!

One thought on “The bookshop has a thousand books, all colors, hues, and tinges, and every cover is a door that turns on magic hinges. -Nancy Byrd Turner

  1. Betty says:

    How I love book stores! I’ve often wished I could live in one. My favorite things about Choose Your Own Adventure books are that new readers often feel such an accomplishment when they can actually read a whole chapter book in fairly short time, often for the first time in their young-reader lives and that each book can be read several times with different plots and outcomes and, of course, the magical power readers feel when they can make choices within a book!

    Like

Leave a Reply

