Party of One: A Memoir in 21 Songs by Dave Holmes

28257149When I picked this book out, I had no idea that I “knew” the author.  I am putting “knew” in quotes because I don’t actually know him but once I got the book and looked at the book jacket, I recognized him immediately.  If you watched any MTV in the 90’s, you “know” him too.

What initially drew me to this book was probably the idea of 21 songs being the framework for a memoir and I have to say, it didn’t disappoint.  Each chapter was named with a song title, most of which I knew. I feel a little guilty, actually, that I am writing this review instead of making this playlist on my phone.

Holmes and I don’t have much in common.  He went to Catholic school through college, knows a crazy amount of music trivia, and has lived his adult life working in television (MTV being his first gig). Throughout the book, Holmes recalls the stories of his life and relates them to the songs that were, to him, significant.  It seems apparent that early on Holmes knew he was gay and it was fascinating to read his story.

While the book was entertaining, it wasn’t until the end that I really fell in love with the book.  The cover and title all made sense.  Memoirs aren’t about just putting a bunch of stories together, although it is the stories that drove this book forward.  Memoirs are about the reflection and learning the author can share, and if we as the reader are lucky, can find a piece of learning for ourselves.

I rated this book 4 out of 5 stars.  Now, if you can excuse me, I have a playlist to build.

I received this book from the Blogging for Books program in exchange for this review.

bfb-728x90-2

One thought on “Party of One: A Memoir in 21 Songs by Dave Holmes

Leave a Reply

