6 Days Down…4 Days To Go

So, I am 6 days into of the Fed Up Challenge to be sugar free for 10 days.  Technically today is Day 7 but I am not counting yet because it is still early!  If you are just joining me and have no idea what I am talking about, you can read more here!

unnamed

I need to start out by saying I am actually doing pretty well with the whole challenge. A lot better than I thought I would.   I have avoided all obvious sweets and have been paying much closer attention to labels.  I thought I knew how much sugar was in different processed foods but honestly, I had no idea really.  I am eating a lot more fruit that I usually do because when I feel like I need something sweet it is easy to turn to fruit.  Little things like BBQ sauce and salad dressing have really been something I have had to think a lot about when prepared or eating.

The hardest thing by far was the blinding headache I had on days 2, 3 and 4.  Like, seriously the worst headache I have had in a long time.  And oh, I was CRANKY on day 4.  I did some reading and both of those lovely attributes were from “detoxing” from sugar.  That alone scared me enough to keep going.  If my body was reacting that strongly to not getting processed sugar that is a problem.

I don’t think I will be able to keep going this strictly forever.  I was very sad when I drove by Dutch Bros. on Saturday and didn’t pull in to get my iced chai.  I am going to try and finish these last four days and then be much more careful about what I do from that point on.

Right now, this is what is sitting on the kitchen counter for Joe.

img_6189

And now that I posted the picture here for all of you to see, they will continue to be there waiting for him.  Phew.

2 thoughts on “6 Days Down…4 Days To Go

  1. Peggy says:

    Yay you! But I would have to throw those donuts away! It would be too tempting to have them sitting on my counter.
    Today is my Day 1. Thanks for the inspiration!

    Like

Leave a Reply

