Love That Boy: What Two Presidents, Eight Road Trips and My Son Taught Me About a Parent’s Expectations by Ron Fournier

25937912

The title of this book is what grabbed my attention and didn’t let go.  I wasn’t disappointed.

When I picked this book, I had no idea who Ron Fournier was.  Turns out, if I paid any real attention to politics, I might have.  Fournier spent 20 years working for the Associated Press, part of that time in Washington D.C.  He is a senior political columnist of National Journal. But this book isn’t really about any of that.  It is about Fournier being a dad.

I can’t go any longer without saying I loved this book. Loved, loved, loved this book.

I knew this book would be about parenting but I was not expecting such an honest assessment of his own parenting from the author.  As I read, I learned about the parenting journey that Fournier took (literally and figuratively) soon after his son received an Asperger’s diagnosis.  Through his storytelling, I felt like I was being given the chance to truly reflect on my own parenting.  What do I expect?  How am I communicating my expectations?  How much to outside pressure influence what I expect?  What do I need to change?  Great questions that I should come back to again and again.

I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars. The honest storytelling is unmatched in any other parenting book I have ever read.

I received this book from the Blogging for Books program in exchange for this review.

bfb-728x90-2

One thought on “Love That Boy: What Two Presidents, Eight Road Trips and My Son Taught Me About a Parent’s Expectations by Ron Fournier

Leave a Reply

