This month I read… June 2016

June was a slow reading month for me because it was a busy everything else month.  I too often sat down to read only to fall asleep a few pages in.  I am not mad at any of that sleep though, I needed it, but it just resulted in less reading.  Here’s what I read this month…

Growing Up Mindful: Essential Practices to Help Children, Teens and Families find Balance, Calm and Resilience by Christopher Willard was an e-book that I checked out from the local library to expand my potential tools for not only being more mindful myself, but supporting Taelin.  It was a rather long read but after the science was explained, there were many practical exercises that anyone could do.

I gave this book 3 out of 5 stars.  I was good but long and I felt like it was a little repetitive.  The author didn’t need to convince me the usefulness of mindfulness.  I had the book; I was ready to go. The fact that I read it as an e-book I think also colored my view.  It wasn’t very user friendly long term as an e-book.  I tried some of the practices as I was reading but the book has since been returned to the library and the specific practices gone along with it.

Three Wishes by Liane Moriarty is the third book I have read by this author in the last few months.  It was a quick read about three adult sisters that were triplets.  There was plenty of drama to be had between the covers, more than was believable in some cases, but I still enjoyed it. The sisters where hilarious together and the interactions among the three of them made the book.

I think my favorite thing about this book was the little pieces of the story that were told from the perspective of total strangers.  Past and present events were shared and it was such an interesting way to tell part of the story, as well as remind us that things are not always what they seem on the outside.

I gave this book 3 out of 5 stars.  It is my least favorite of the books that I have read by this author.  It was her first novel and I can say for sure I like her later work better.  This book certainly wouldn’t stop me from reading anything else by Moriarty.

The Story of Beautiful Girl by Rachel Simon is a book that I read with some good friends of mine.  I failed to finish the book by the designated time mostly because it took me a long time to get into it. The book starts in 1968 when Lynnie and Homan run away from a horrific institution to find a safe place for Lynnie’s baby, a baby born after Lynnie was raped by one of the caretakers in the institution.  They find Martha, a retired school teacher, who promises to care for the baby.  Lynnie is captured and taken back to the institution and Homan escapes.  The rest of the book tells the story of what happens to them all after, including baby Julia.

I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars, even though is was a slow start for me.  There are some incredibly beautiful moments in this book, as well as some incredibly heartbreaking moments.  I have no problem admitting I cried several times.  I couldn’t wait to get to the end to find out what would happen but once I got there I was sad it was ending and wanted to more.

 

 

Leave a Reply

