The List

I have been a list girl for quite some time.  I love making lists and crossing things off.  If I am feeling stressed or overloaded with too many things to get done, there is nothing that helps me more than making a list.

I have also been a wanting-to-start-a-blog girl for awhile too.  However, I couldn’t on earth imagine what in the world I would blog about.  Enter…Charlie Capp, my soon-to-be brother-in-law.  Last week, when looking at his blog for an image from a card he had made, I noticed something I hadn’t seen before. He had a list of 101 things that he wanted to accomplish in 1001 days.  Do I need to say it again?  There was a list.  I went to http://www.dayzeroproject.com.  There were a lot of people that had made lists.

So…I made a list.

The first thing I did from my list-start a blog.  And for me, I hope it will be a blog about my journey to complete, in 1001 days, the 101 things I put on my list.  Some of the things on my list will be easy and some will be more difficult.  Some will bring me great joy and others are sure to bring tears.  But in the end, checking this list off isn’t what I want this to be all about.  I hope to learn more about myself and others around me.  I hope I stop and enjoy the little things before I don’t have to the chance to enjoy them.  I hope those that mean the most to me, will know it.

One thing done…100 more to go.  I have 998 days to finish the rest. Join me, won’t you?

  1. Start a blog
  2. Kayak in Hawaii
  3. Take a photo a day for one month
  4. Read 50 books
  5. Jump in puddles with Taelin
  6. Write a letter to someone I admire
  7. Write a love letter to my husband
  8. Write a list of 50 things I like about myself (50/50)
  9. List 10 things I don’t like about myself (and how to figure out how to improve) (10/10)
  10. Make a list of 101 quotes that inspire me
  11. Make a list of 101 things for which I am grateful
  12. Make a list of all family and friends Birthdays and Anniversaries
  13. Take Taelin camping
  14. Complete a coloring book
  15. Get to my goal weight
  16. Write a matron of honor speech that will make my sister both laugh and cry
  17. Bake and decorate sugar cookies
  18. Bake a cake from scratch
  19. Try 50 new recipes
  20. Go to a wine tasting
  21. Leave a 100% tip
  22. Watch a movie at a drive-in
  23. Complete a 1000+ piece puzzle
  24. Ask 5 friends to suggest one book, and read them all
  25. Pay off my student loan
  26. See a Broadway show
  27. Commit a Random Act of Kindness Every Month
  28. Get rid of 100 things
  29. Donate to Toys for Tots
  30. Buy flowers for myself
  31. Go on a picnic
  32. Kayak on a river
  33. Host a themed party
  34. Learn a new word every week
  35. Simplify my life in 10 tangible ways
  36. Try glass blowing
  37. Visit Crater Lake
  38. Visit Yellowstone National Park
  39. Eat at 10 new restaurants
  40. Take a cake decorating class
  41. Take a cooking class
  42. Buy flowers for someone else just because
  43. Send 50 handwritten cards
  44. Make a list of my 50 favorite songs
  45. Build a sandcastle
  46. Volunteer somewhere
  47. Make a font out of my handwriting
  48. Go skiing again
  49. Watch 10 documentaries
  50. Go to a movie by myself
  51. Start a garden
  52. Submit a photo to failblog
  53. List my top 10 movies
  54. Scrapbook an album of John for Taelin
  55. See a stand up comedian live
  56. Play and finish a game of Monopoly with Joe without cheating
  57. Learn to juggle 3 balls
  58. Build a fire on the beach
  59. Pay for the person behind me at Starbucks
  60. Update my blog at least once a week
  61. Go on a water slide
  62. Have a family portrait taken
  63. Take a Yoga class
  64. Start a daily gratitude journal
  65. Play bingo
  66. Visit an art exhibition
  67. Go sledding
  68. Complete the 100 snapshot challenge (24/100)
  69. Visit a butterfly garden
  70. Renew my Passport
  71. Make Mexican Chocolate ice cream
  72. Put change in someone’s expired parking meter
  73. Visit the San Diego Zoo
  74. Learn to use chopsticks properly
  75. Redo the bedroom: paint, new furniture, new bedding
  76. Watch 26 movies I’ve never seen starting with each letter of the alphabet.
  77. Make a gingerbread house
  78. Write a letter to Taelin about how Joe and I met
  79. Take a picture with Joe in a photobooth
  80. Make jam
  81. See the Nutcracker at Christmastime
  82. Walk a cancer walk in memory of John
  83. Inspire someone to make a Day Zero List
  84. Take Taelin on a train ride
  85. Teach a class for OWP
  86. Take a picture with Santa
  87. Give away 5 copies of my favorite book to 5 different people
  88. Take Taelin to the World Beat Festival and watch a music performance
  89. Spend a whole day at the beach
  90. Build a blanket fort
  91. Hike an unknown to me trail at Silver Falls
  92. Write a fan letter
  93. Finish a wordfind book
  94. Maintain my goal weight
  95. 26 Things Photograph A-Z Theme-Summer 2012
  96. Complete a December Daily scrapbook
  97. Buy a lottery ticket
  98. Hike to the M in Missoula
  99. Give 10 “just because” gifts (10/10)
  100. Finish writing another 101 things list by the end of 1001 days
  101. Celebrate Day 1001!
Leave a Reply

